Tsunami Fanzine’s Last Issue

The front cover of Tsunami's Summer 2011 fanzine issue. Art by Kristen McGuire.

Hello everyone,

It’s been awhile since someone’s posted on here, and it might be even longer after my post because it seems that I’ve finished the last Tsunami fanzine issue that anyone’s going to create. I’m a former member of Terrapin Anime Society (the student organization at the University of Maryland, College Park, that produces Tsunami fanzine), as well as a former Editor-in-Chief of Tsunami fanzine, and it appears that the club may not be meeting anymore, judging from the group emails I’ve been getting. Of course, this is pure speculation on my part, but I think it may be the case that TAS is on its last legs…which means that Tsunami fanzine is probably going down with it (after all, if no one’s in the club, then who’s willing to make it?).

I finished creating the (unofficial) last issue of Tsunami fanzine awhile ago, on July 27th, 2011, for the Summer 2011 issue. Although it didn’t get produced (to my knowledge) because I was late in completing it, I kept it in my back pocket, ’cause I wasn’t sure that this last issue would get produced (even though I knew that I probably wouldn’t, because of the state of the club towards the end of my time there).

Recently, however, I decided to make this available for free. This was partly because it was bugging me that I couldn’t show the final product, but it was also because people contributed to the last issue and I thought it mattered that they get shown…even if it’s extremely late. Btw, sorry again to everyone involved with TAS and Tsunami (especially the contributors) for not getting this issue produced in time.

So, here it is, the last issue of Tsunami fanzine:

(Note: It may take a little while to load. And, whichever program you use to view the issue, it’d be best to view it with the cover pages in single-page form and the rest of the issue in 2-page form – like you’re reading an actual magazine.)

https://tsunamifanzine.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/tsunami_fanzine_2ndfinaldraft_2011.pdf

Please keep in mind, this last issue of Tsunami fanzine is not meant for sale or profit. It is completely free. This is purely for entertainment and artistic purposes. All of the images found in the fanzine belong to and are copyrighted to their respective owners; TAS, Tsunami fanzine, and I do not own these images.

I know that some of this issue (especially the news section) is old and irrelevant, and that I didn’t do a great job of assembling it, but I hope you enjoy this last issue…and that TAS and Tsunami are not at their end yet!

-Chris Yi

Leave a Reply

